120 Stars


Warren Spector Talks Epic Mickey, Praises 3DS
July 23, 2010, 1:22 pm
Filed under: News, Nintendo, Wii | Tags: , ,

Warren Spector, the man behind Epic Mickey, recently spoke with gaming website Gamasutra, speaking on his latest title, and the recently revealed Nintendo 3DS. Hit the break to find out what he said.

“From the day I started really thinking about this consciously… I’ve always believed that the really hardcore thing is the game where there’s only one way to solve a problem and if you’re not smart enough to figure it out, you stop playing. And I’ve always thought that the idea of, ‘Hey, if one way to solve this problem is too tough for you, try another’… was a mainstream idea. And I love having Mickey as the hero of the story of this game, because I think he’s a great way to get [across] this idea that ‘Hey, games are about interactivity, they’re about you’. They’re not about me, as the designer, they’re about you being creative. If I can get that idea out to a larger audience, that I think is borderline important, not just something cool to do.”

“Boy, 3D is here to stay; it is not a fad, and speed the day that we get big screen TVs, and theaters with glasses free 3D like that. Nintendo got everything right on that little device. And they deserve to sell a gazillion of them. I want the first one off the line. And boy I hope I get a chance to develop for it someday. I mean literately, I came away from that feeling like I had just experienced some Disney magic. And I’ve been telling everybody who’ll listen it’s like the coolest thing ever, it’s unbelievable. I absolutely fell in love with the thing.”

Epic Mickey hits this holiday season.

– Dan

[Source]

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

